Wall to Wall: National Geographic Goldmine

Standard

My humble abode used to be plastered with images. Each section of the walls in my room was dedicated to a theme : pinups of women from fashion magazines, breathtaking landscapes, giant posters, inspirational quotes, and a shoe collage. As time went on, I cared less and less about clothes and materialistic items, so I tore down the fashion and shoe smorgasbord. The National Geographic photos stayed because they provided an escape for me when I stared at my walls (which I still tend to do), begging them to take me somewhere else.

“Not all those who wander are lost.”

Nowadays, my decorating scheme is minimalistic. I have a small, geometrically-shaped arrangement of volcanoes and constellations from National Geographic, a few postcards from my travels, a couple photos on my bookshelf, and the Desiderata quote next to a dry-erase calendar and a cork board.

Instead of visual chaos, it’s visual stimulation. Whoever walks in to my room should feel at ease when they look at the palm trees on my curtains and the coral reef fold-out above my bed. The last thing I want is for them to cower due to sensory overload.

My sanctuary is the ocean waves crashing over the Caribbean sand. I’ll be there someday soon…

3 thoughts on “Wall to Wall: National Geographic Goldmine

Leave a Reply

